Girls Coach of the Year

Each year IHSTCA celebrates the dedication and achievements of the coaches who spend many hours developing our young athletes. 

Read about the accomplishments of our past winners. 

2021 - Courtney Bison (York - AA) & Sonthana Thongsithavong (Glenwood - A)

2019 - Denise Murphy (Lake Forest - AA) & Warren Harris (Latin - A)

2018 - Trudy Bennorth (Neuqua Valley - AA) & Kaye Kimpling (Teutopolis - A)

2017 - Tom Stanhope (Stevenson - AA)  Dempsey Willard (Whitney Young - AA)  Bryan Plinske (Lakes - A)


Dempsey Willard, Chicago Whitney Young      Class AA


Michael Hand, Benet Academy    Class A


Peg Holeck, Glenbrook North    NFHS National Coach of the Year


Keith Mills, Timothy Christian


Tom Stanhope, Stevenson


Vince DeSecki, Warren 


Tres Heimann, Elmhurst York 


Denise Murphy, Lake Forest


Jessica Fetzner, Prairie Ridge


Tracy Waters Miller, Barrington     NFHS National Coach of the Year


Tracy Waters-Miller, Barrington

2007  Pete Freischlag, Downers Grove
2007 Jerilyn Scardina, Hinsdale Central     NFHS National Coach of the Year
2006  Bob Keefe, Belleville West
2005  Geoff Gluck, Deerfield 
2004  Jerry Morse-Karzen, New Trier
2003 Tom Derouin, Moline
2002 Jerry Morse-Karzen, New Trier
2001 Robert Wagemann, Lake Forest
2000 Sarah Pate, Glenbrook North
1999 Jerilyn Scardina, Hinsdale Central
1998 Dave Lipe, Edwardsville

Brian Brooks, Aurora West

Jeff Fujino, Fremd

1996 Harry Patterson, West Aurora
1995 Bill Carson, Champain Central
1994 Diane Pettet, Peoria Richwoods
1993 Julie Koivula, Geneva

Bob O'Keefe, Belleville West

Mary Jo Timmis, New Trier

1991 Ron Leban, Lyons
1990 Jim Love, Lyons
1989 Jim Trudeau, Homewood-Flossmoor
1988 Jim Trudeau, Homewood-Flossmoor 
1987 Mary Jo Timmis, New Trier
1986 Victor Borst, Homewood-Flossmoor
1985 Mary Jo Peterson, Oak Park-River Forest
1984 Mary Jo Herzog (Timmis), New Trier
1983 Mary Lou Hundt, Arlington